Kaye Husbands Fealing, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair

Member Of:
  • School of Public Policy
Email Address:
Office Phone:
Office Location:
DM Smith 107B

Dr. Kaye Husbands Fealing is an economist who comes to the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts from the Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota. During her career, she has built a distinguished record of achievements in scholarship and education, as well as in national and international leadership and service. Her areas of expertise include international trade policy; science, technology, and innovation policy in specific contexts; knowledge generation and the development of networks; and pathways to broadening participation in STEM fields and the workforce.

Husbands Fealing developed models to measure science innovation and to measure the impacts of market forces and policy on the access of women and minorities to employment and careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) areas. She has held named professorships and served as president of the National Economic Association. She developed the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Science of Science and Innovation Policy program and co-chaired the Science of Science Policy Interagency Task Group under a subcommittee of the National Science and Technology Council. At NSF, she also served as an economics program director. She was a visiting scholar at Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Center for Technology Policy and Industrial Development, where she conducted research on NAFTA's impact on the Mexican and Canadian automotive industries and research on strategic alliances between aircraft contractors and their subcontractors.


  • Ph.D. in economics, Harvard University
  • B.A. in mathematics and economics, University of Pennsylvania
Awards and
  • AAAS Board, 2017-2019
  • AAAS Distinguished Fellow
  • Council of Canadian Academies, appointed for term 2016-2017.
  • National Institutes of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences Advisory Council, appointed for term 2017-2019.
  • National Academy of Sciences, Panel on Reengineering the Census Bureau’s Annual Economic Surveys, appointed for term 2015-2017.
  • National Academy of Sciences, Committee on Developing Indicators for Undergraduate STEM Education, appointed for term 2015-2017.
  • National Science Foundation grant, 2015, Science of Broadening Participation in STEM, with co-investigator Connie McNeely (George Mason University)
  • United States Department of Agriculture grant, 2014: Assessing the Outputs of Government-Funded University Research: The Case of Food Safety and Security, with co-investigators Stan Johnson (National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy) and Julia Lane (New York University).
  • Teacher of the Year Award, 2009 – 2010 & 2014: Humphrey Institute for Public Affairs, University of Minnesota
  • Council of Graduate Students Outstanding Faculty Award, 2014: University of Minnesota
  • National Science Foundation grant, 2013: Science of Science and Innovation Policy Principal Investigators Conference, convened at the National Academy of Sciences, September 2012.
  • National Science Foundation, 2012: Women in Science and Technology Policy project, collaborative project with co-investigators Susan Cozzens (Georgia Tech), Debra Fitzpatrick (University of Minnesota), and Laurel Smith-Doerr (University of Massachusetts-Amherst).
  • National Science Foundation, Social Behavioral and Economic Sciences, 2008 - Distinguished recognition of leadership for developing the Science of Science and Innovation Program in 2006.
  • National Science Foundation POWRE Grant, 1998
  • MIT/Lean Aircraft Initiative Grant, 1993
  • Social Science Research Council, 1992
  • Ford Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1992
  • MIT/International Motor Vehicle Program Grant, 1992
  • AT&T Bell Laboratories Corporate Research Fellowship Program award, 1981 (National Science Foundation Minority Fellowship award granted but declined to accept the fellowship Bell Labs).