Looking forward, looking back: A Timeline of the School of Public Policy Chairs

SPP Chair timeline

Posted May 28, 2021

The School of Public Policy extends a warm welcome to our new chair, Dr. Cassidy Sugimoto. 

Dr. Sugimoto will be officially joining us on Tuesday, June 1st. She comes to us from the School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering at Indiana University Bloomington. There she was a professor of informatics and director of graduate studies. 

Georgia Tech's School of Public Policy was founded in 1990. Since its inception, it has had several school directors and chairs that have helped develop it into the policy and technology-driven institute we know today. 

  • David Roessner: 1990-1992 
  • Richard Barke: 1992-1994
  • Barry Bozeman: 1994-1998
  • Susan Cozzens: 1998-2003
  • Diana Hicks: 2003-2013
  • Michael Hoffman (Interim): 2013-2014
  • Kay Husbands Fealing: 2014-2020
  • Marilyn Brown (Interim): 2020-2021

The first director was David Roessner. His research interests lay within technology policy, the evaluation of research programs, and innovation management. 

Following Roessner was Richard Barke. Barke started his position as director in 1992. Barke now serves as an associate professor & director of undergraduate studies. 

Susan Cozzens served as chair from 1998-2003. Cozzens then served as vice provost for graduate education and faculty development for Georgia Tech from 2012 to 2017.

Diana Hicks served as chair from 2003-2013. Hicks is the longest-serving chair in the school's history. 

Kaye Husbands Fealing became chair in 2014. Husbands Fealing is now Dean of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts at Georgia Tech.

Although the chairs have changed throughout the years, one thing remains the same, the school's passion for developing policy leaders. We are looking forward to seeing the development and enrichment that Dr. Sugimoto will provide to the school. 


chairtimeline-01.png - 1453583 bytes

Contact For More Information

Ansley Thomas