News: Diana Hicks Named a AAAS Fellow

Professor Diana Hicks 

Posted November 28, 2018

School of Public Policy Professor Diana Hicks was one of four Georgia Tech faculty members named 2018 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. 

Hicks was recognized for “distinguished contributions to the evaluation of national and international research and development enterprises, and for outstanding leadership in science and technology policy education.” Hicks specializes in metrics for science and technology policy, and was the first author on the Leiden Manifesto for research metrics. Published in Nature, the Leiden Manifesto has been translated into 20 languages and won the 2016 Ziman award from the European Association for the Study of Science and Technology (EASST) for collaborative promotion of public interaction with science and technology.

Dr. Hicks will be recognized during the 2019 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

AAAS fellow honorees from the School of Public Policy include:

Susan Cozzens (1994)

Cheryl Leggon (2007)

Valerie M. Thomas (2010)

Philip P. Shapira (2016)

Kaye Husbands Fealing (2017)

Mary Frank Fox (2018)

Diana Hicks (2019)

To read more on this year's AAAS Fellows click here.